IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEE
The general call for papers can be found here.

IEEE SmartGridComm Symposium on
Smart Metering Infrastructure Networks and Data

Symposium Co-chairs

Andrea M. Tonello, University of Udine, Italy. (chair)
Prathima Agrawal, Auburn University, USA.
Masahiro Morikura, Kyoto University, Japan.
Mani B. Srivastava, UCLA, USA.

Scope and Motivation

Key elements in the Smart Grid are the Smart Meter and the Smart Metering Infrastructure Network that allows conveying metering data collected at the appliance/device level or the end user level and exchanging it with the grid operator or service provider. Demand side management, demand response, dynamic pricing, load balancing, device/appliance control mechanisms rely on a reliable and secure communication network where meters and home gateways allow measurements and data exchange between the smart home and the distribution grid operator (DSO) or the energy service provider (ESP). This symposium will focus on theoretical and experimental results related to smart metering technology, protocols, applications, communication technologies and network infrastructures for smart metering.

Topics of Particular Interest

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
  • Network architectures, models and protocols for smart metering
  • Transmission technologies for smart metering (wireline, wireless, power line communications PHY and MAC)
  • Protocols for real time information collection and two-way communications for smart metering
  • Coexistence, convergence and interoperability mechanism in smart metering networks and technologies
  • Integration of smart meters in smart grid networks
  • Functionalities of smart meters, integration of electrical, gas and water meters in smart grids
  • Smart meter hardware/software interfaces, semantics and protocols
  • Networks from the smart meter to the ESP, to the DSO and to the home appliances
  • Signal processing and coding techniques for smart metering
  • Cooperative schemes in smart metering networks
  • Performance of smart metering systems and results from field trials
  • Smart metering data models, profiles and management
  • National and regional policies and procedures for smart metering
Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here.
Paper submission needs to be performed through EDAS:

Technical Program Committee (TPC) Members

Yuvraj Agarwal, University of California, San Diego
Alireza Babaei, Auburn University
Gerd Bumiller, Hochschule Ruhr West
Jyh-Cheng Chen, National Chiao Tung University
Takefumi Hiraguri, Nippon Institute of Technology
Gopalakrishnan Iyer, Auburn University  
Osamu Kagami, NTT
Younghun Kim, IBM T J Watson Research
Kiyoshi Kobayashi, Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute International
Shuji Kubota, Shibaura Institute of Technology
Bill Lichtensteiger, Landis + Gyr AG
Masakatsu Ogawa, Sophia University
Minoru Okada, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Riccardo Raheli, University of Parma
Moises Ribeiro, Federal University of Juiz de Fora
Mehmet Safak, Hacettepe University
Ruben Salazar Cardozo, Landis + Gyr
Andreas Savvides, Yale University
Deva Seetharam, IBM Research - India
Krishna Sivalingam, Indian Institute of Technology Madras
Takatoshi Sugiyama, NTT
Carlo Tornelli, RSE
Daisuke Umehara, Kyoto Institute of Technology
Stephan Weiss, University of Strathclyde
Koji Yamamoto, Kyoto University
Tao Zhang, Telcordia


      home    about    committee    participate    patrons    program    nondiscrimination policy        © 2012 IEEE Communications Society